Educator Recognition

RIDE coordinates the selection and recognition of several award programs: the Milken Family Foundation Educator Awards; Rhode Island Teacher of the Year; the Presidential Awards in Mathematics and Science; and Principal of the Year; as well as the Golden Apple Awards.

Golden Apple Awards

NBC 10, the Rhode Island Department of Education, RIDOT Cares, and Hasbro are teaming up to recognize outstanding teachers in our communities. The Golden Apple Award honors those who believe in the true spirit of teaching by making classrooms a creative and safe place to learn. 

Winning educators will receive a $250 contribution from Hasbro provided by the Kids in Need Foundation to help them fund their classroom needs, as well as a gift basket from RIDOT Cares, the employee charitable organization at the RI Department of Transportation.

If you know an outstanding teacher who deserves recognition for their efforts in the classroom, you can nominate them using the form at

Award Recipients

25 Dietra Medeiros
Wilbur McMahon,
Little Compton
  Click here to view the video on
7 Alexis Meyer
Archie R. Cole Middle School,
East Greenwich
  Click here to view the video on
14 James Kennedy
Toll Gate High School,
  Click here to view the video on
21 Wayne Kilcline
Lillian Feinstein @ Sackett,
  Click here to view the video on
7 Holly Meyer
Cranston High School West,
14 Mark Colozzi
Cranston High School East,
10 Peter Boland
Beacon Charter School,

17 Mary Ellen Cardenas
Calcutt Middle School,
Central Falls

24 Lynn Pike
Lincoln Middle School,
31 Christopher Allen
Greenbush Elementary School,
West Warwick
6 Erin Phillips
Portsmouth High School,

13 Melissa Velleca
Hugh Cole Elementary,

20 Susan Flynn
Tiogue School,
27 Frances Healy
East Greenwich High School,
East Greenwich
1 Nancy Sisti
Gladstone Elementary,

8 Kristal Gardiner
Park Elementary,
4 Carol Bibeault
Cumberland High School,

11 Dianne Mohler
Northern Elementary School,

25 Toni-Annette Silveira
North Kingstown High School, 
North Kingstown
27 Meridee Goodwin
Vincent J. Gallagher Middle School,